American Hartford Gold vs American Gold and Silver Group
Similar guarantees - one with a public track record
Edited by Gold IRA Planet Editorial Team
Fact-checks this site’s content · How we review
Some companies on this page pay us when you request a kit or open an account through our links. This can affect which companies we list and where, but not the facts we publish (our disclosure). Not financial advice.
The verdict
9.8/10 vs 8.6/10
American Hartford Gold is the stronger pick for most people - Published $10,000 minimum. Full reasoning, fees and the cases where American Gold and Silver Group wins are below.
| At a glance | American Hartford Gold | American Gold and Silver Group |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum | $10,000 | Ask the company (not published) |
| Setup fee | ~$230 | Set by custodian (ask for a quote) |
| Yearly fees | ~$225-$275/yr (custodian + storage) | Set by custodian (ask for a quote) |
| Buyback | No buy-back fees (advertised) | No buy-back fees (advertised) |
Fees and minimums are approximate snapshots and change often - confirm current terms and the markup on your metals in writing before you invest. How we compare companies

Easy 3-step tax-free, penalty-free gold IRA setup
- 100% satisfaction guarantee, 7-day full refund
- Lowest price guarantee & no buy-back fees
- Up to $25k in free silver on qualifying orders

Effortless tax & penalty-free gold IRA setup
- 100% satisfaction guarantee & 7 day full refund
- Up to $15,000 in free silver
- Lowest price guarantee & no buy-back fees
The full breakdown
American Hartford Gold vs American Gold and Silver Group: a closer look at each
Both are established gold IRA companies, and the right pick comes down to your amount, the fees you will pay and the terms you are comfortable with. So instead of crowning a “winner,” here’s the real rundown on each - what you get, what it actually costs, and what real customers are saying - so you can pick the one that fits you.

What is American Hartford Gold?
American Hartford Gold is a family-owned precious metals dealer based in Los Angeles, founded in about 2015. It offers gold and silver IRAs with a $10,000 minimum - much lower than some big-name rivals - and holds a reported A+ BBB rating with strong Trustpilot scores.
Read the full American Hartford Gold breakdown▾
The company advertises an "easy 3-step tax-free, penalty-free" IRA setup, same-day account opening, a 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 7-day full refund, a lowest price guarantee and no buy-back fees. This review covers what it reportedly charges, what those promises mean in practice and the criticism it has drawn.
What you get with American Hartford Gold
- $10,000 minimum
- Advertised 3-step IRA setup, with same-day account opening
- 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 7-day full refund (company claim)
- Lowest price guarantee and no buy-back fees (company claim)
- Up to $25,000 in free silver on qualifying orders (promo)
- A+ BBB (reported) and 4.9 on Trustpilot from 1,947 reviews (Oct 2026)
Who American Hartford Gold is best for
- Savers starting with $10,000 or more
- Larger accounts that qualify for free silver or fee waivers
- Buyers who want a stated refund window and buyback terms
What are American Hartford Gold’s fees?
Approximate only - American Hartford Gold does not post its fees online.
Full fee details▾
Third-party sources report a $230 application fee plus about $225 a year for non-segregated storage or $275 a year for segregated storage. Yahoo Finance has reported storage fees waived for 1 year on accounts of $50,000 or more, or 3 years at $100,000 or more, and the company currently advertises up to $25,000 in free silver on qualifying orders - promotions like these depend on how much you buy.
The company does not publish its markups on coins and bars, which is usually the biggest cost. Ask for the full fee schedule, the spread on each product and the terms of the refund and price guarantees in writing before you fund the account.
Setup fee
One-time application fee (reported)
one-time
Yearly fees
Custodian admin + depository storage
annual
Minimum
Minimum to open a gold IRA
What we like about American Hartford Gold
- Low $10,000 minimum
- Advertised 7-day full refund and no buy-back fees
- Free-silver and fee-waiver offers can add value on larger accounts
- Strong reported BBB and Trustpilot ratings
Worth keeping in mind
- Fees are not published online
- Markups on coins and bars are not disclosed upfront
- The biggest promotions depend on how much you buy
- Some reviewers criticize its advertising and cite whistleblower complaints
What real American Hartford Gold customers are saying

American Hartford Gold reviews on
TrustpilotBusy but available
“The team is very busy but does take the time to answer questions and let you read thru things and ask questions.”
Angela
US
Noth Jamie and Dion were professional
“Noth Jamie and Dion were professional, very informative, and extremely helpful. I plan on a long lasting relationship with American Hartford Gold.”
Chris Skwarko
US
James Langridge
“James Langridge, Machi Block, and Katee Trinh were all great to work with. Machi answered all my questions in detail. It's nice knowing I can contact James & Machi any time and they get right back to me.”
Sherrie Knight
US
Patience, explanations and details all in one.
“I am somewhat new to buying gold and I appreciate the time, service and patience I experienced here. I was a bit nervous about investing my hard earned money, but with your guidance and explanations I feel so much more confident about this. Thanks so much”
Munir Kreidie
US
What is American Gold and Silver Group?
American Gold and Silver Group offers gold and silver IRAs and advertises an "effortless" tax- and penalty-free IRA setup. The company advertises a 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 7-day full refund, a lowest price guarantee, no buy-back fees and up to $15,000 in free silver.
Read the full American Gold and Silver Group breakdown▾
We could not find independent reviews, ratings or published fee data for this company, so this review sets out what it advertises and the questions to ask before you open an account.
What you get with American Gold and Silver Group
- Gold and silver IRAs and rollovers (company claim)
- 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 7-day full refund (company claim)
- Lowest price guarantee (company claim)
- No buy-back fees (company claim)
- Up to $15,000 in free silver (promo, terms vary)
- Storage at approved US depositories through your custodian
Who American Gold and Silver Group is best for
- Buyers who value an advertised refund window and price guarantee
- Savers who will compare quotes from several companies
- People who prefer to work with a representative by phone
What are American Gold and Silver Group’s fees?
American Gold and Silver Group does not publish its fees, and we found no third-party fee figures.
Full fee details▾
Setup and yearly fees are normally set by the custodian and depository; across the industry they typically run about $175-$300 a year in total, but ask for this company's actual numbers. Free-silver offers are usually tied to how much you buy, so compare the total price of the metal, not just the bonus.
Before you fund an account, get the minimum, every fee, the markup on each product, the buyback price and the exact refund and price-guarantee terms in writing.
Setup fee
Set by the custodian - ask for a quote
one-time
Yearly fees
Custodian admin + depository storage
annual
Minimum
Not published - ask the company
What we like about American Gold and Silver Group
- Advertised 7-day full refund window
- Advertised lowest price guarantee and no buy-back fees
- Free-silver offer can add value on qualifying purchases
- Offers both gold and silver IRAs
Worth keeping in mind
- No customer reviews yet - its Trustpilot profile (as American Gold Group, claimed July 2026) showed 0 reviews in October 2026
- No third-party fee data found
- Fees, minimum and founding year are not published
- Markups on coins and bars are not disclosed upfront
- Free-silver offer likely depends on purchase size
American Hartford Gold vs. American Gold and Silver Group: What’s the Difference?
The key differences to consider when comparing the two companies.
| American Hartford Gold | American Gold and Silver Group | |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum investment | $10,000 | Ask the company (not published) |
| Setup fee | ~$230 | Set by custodian (ask for a quote) |
| Yearly fees | ~$225-$275/yr (custodian + storage) | Set by custodian (ask for a quote) |
| Storage | Approved US depositories | Approved US depositories |
| Buyback | No buy-back fees (advertised) | No buy-back fees (advertised) |
| Current promotion | Up to $25k in free silver on qualifying orders | Up to $15,000 in free silver |
| In business since | 2015 | Not published |
So which one should you pick?
Find the line that sounds like you - that’s your answer.
Here’s the short version
American Hartford Gold and American Gold and Silver Group advertise very similar offers: a 7-day full refund, a lowest price guarantee and no buy-back fees. The difference is how much you can check.
American Hartford Gold publishes a $10,000 minimum and has years of third-party reviews; we found little independent information on American Gold and Silver Group.
The quick answer
Go with American Hartford Gold if you want
- Published $10,000 minimum
- BBB A+ and Trustpilot 4.9 (1,947 reviews)
- Up to $25,000 in free silver on qualifying orders (advertised)
American Gold and Silver Group makes more sense if you want
- 7-day full refund (advertised)
- Lowest price guarantee and no buy-back fees (advertised)
- Up to $15,000 in free silver (advertised)
Had to pick one for most people? American Hartford Gold. The numbers and customer feedback below are why - and where American Gold and Silver Group wins instead.
We may be paid if you request a kit or open an account through these links. Not financial advice.
American Hartford Gold vs American Gold and Silver Group: FAQs
Which is better, American Hartford Gold vs American Gold and Silver Group?
American Hartford Gold is our pick for most savers: it has a published $10,000 minimum, a BBB A+ rating and a larger advertised free-silver offer. American Gold and Silver Group advertises the same kind of guarantees, so it may be worth a quote if you want a second option - but ask for its minimum, fees and markup in writing, since we could not confirm them. Whichever you choose, read the written terms behind any guarantee.
Which has the lower minimum, American Hartford Gold or American Gold and Silver Group?
American Hartford Gold opens accounts from $10,000. We found no published minimum for American Gold and Silver Group, so ask the company directly.
Which has lower or clearer fees, American Hartford Gold or American Gold and Silver Group?
American Hartford Gold's fees are reported at about $230 to open and $225-$275 a year, though it does not post them online. We found no third-party fee figures for American Gold and Silver Group - request a written fee schedule before you commit.
Which has the better promotion, American Hartford Gold or American Gold and Silver Group?
American Hartford Gold advertises up to $25,000 in free silver on qualifying orders; American Gold and Silver Group advertises up to $15,000. Both depend on order size, and a bonus is only worth it if the metal's price is fair.
Which has better buyback terms, American Hartford Gold or American Gold and Silver Group?
Both advertise a 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 7-day full refund, a lowest price guarantee and no buy-back fees. These are company claims, so read the written terms.
Which has the better track record, American Hartford Gold or American Gold and Silver Group?
American Hartford Gold has operated since 2015, holds a BBB A+ and shows Trustpilot 4.9 from 1,947 reviews, though BestGuide scores it 3.2/5. We found little independent review history for American Gold and Silver Group - check BBB.org and Trustpilot yourself.
Related Comparisons
Sources & methodology
We built this comparison of American Hartford Gold and American Gold and Silver Group from each company's published information and third-party reviews of its fees and minimums, cross-checked against BBB and Trustpilot records and regulator and court records. Fee figures are approximate - sources often disagree, and we show ranges where they do. IRA rules come from the IRS and the tax code.
Company information
Minimums, setup and yearly fees, storage and buyback terms - the same fields for every company.
- American Hartford Gold - full fee & minimum breakdown
- American Gold and Silver Group - full fee & minimum breakdown
Company data checked October 2026
Customer & community feedback
Third-party signals shown on this page and in our full reviews: Trustpilot ratings and BBB and BCA records, as captured on the dates we note. We report what these sources say - we never fold their ratings into our own scores.
Regulatory & public-record references
- 1.Retirement topics - IRA contribution limits - Internal Revenue Service
- 2.Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs) - Internal Revenue Service
- 3.Publication 590-B: Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs) - Internal Revenue Service
- 4.26 U.S. Code § 408 - Individual retirement accounts - Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School
- 5.10 Things to Ask Before Buying Physical Gold, Silver, or Other Metals - Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)
- 6.CFTC, SEC and states charge Red Rock Secured in precious metals fraud - Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)
- 7.Investor Alert: Self-Directed IRAs and the Risk of Fraud - U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (Investor.gov)
- 8.FTC's Endorsement Guides: What People Are Asking - Federal Trade Commission
Last reviewed October 2026. We revisit comparisons when companies change their fees or policies. This page is general information, not financial, tax or legal advice - always confirm current fees, minimums and the markup on your metals in writing before you invest.
